Lampton Court Logo
Lampton Court

Drug and Alcohol Clinic with Inpatient Detox
Growth Through Learning and Change via Action


Home
Aims and Objectives Admissions Information The Lampton Programme News &
Articles
Staff Vacancies Our Location Contact Us Links

Testimonials
Past (and some current) clients of Lampton Court have said:

David : I was lost before I found Lampton Court and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for treatment for drug or alcohol addiction More ...
Naomi : (I) have been an addict for 10 yrs. I came to Lampton Court in August 2010, for me coming to rehab was a life or death decision and I choose life, which was the best decision I have ever made...

...I know it works. More ...

Mrs M
(Parent)
We went to visit Gary and couldnít believe how well he looked, serene and happy he is hoping to get some voluntary work to do to help him get back into society. Garyís dad and me canít thank and praise Lampton Court for the help they have given Gary, and we are behind him 100%. More ...
Gary : This place works so give it a go you wonít regret it. More ...
Sam : Overall, I can thoroughly recommend this place. It's the best move/decision I've ever made in my whole life. More ...
David: I came into Lampton near a broken man after my detox...  ...I would say that Iím more confident now, Iím more hopeful for my future and I have faith that everything will be ok and things do not have to be the way they were when I first walked through the door of Lampton Court.
More ...
Colin : When I arrived at Lampton Court on 13 July, I was broken!...  ...I'm Colin, 38, and I know that I have a wonderful life ahead of me. More ...
Duncan : I have spent my whole life, or what I can remember of it, in and out of prison and committing crime to fund my addictions and the life style that I once believed I was trapped in.... ...I am nearing the end of my treatment now, and looking back to when I first came in, I am a different person. More ...
Robert : My experience of Lampton has been one of extremes. Coming off drugs gave me back my feelings, so I have been through a lot of lows but also a lot of highs. The highs have definitely outweighed the lows. I had to go through the lows to fully appreciate the highs. More ...
Trevor : From the age of 22 I have been in and out of numerous prisons, I would say I've served a total of 14 years... The reason I chose that life! Drugs...  ...I can say I have a life now. I have so many things to look forward to, and I can honestly say I see things so differently now. More ...
Marion : When I cam here to Lampton Court just over 3 weeks ago as a drunk, without any faith, or hope in my life, the rehab treatments given by attending groups etc has made me feel a person again with a life to fight for. More ...

David Says : Hi my name is David I have come to Lampton Court after successfully completing a detox programme in Hackney London.

My main problem was alcohol I had hit rock bottom and lost pretty much everything I was homeless Iíd lost contact with my two year old daughter and my family had basically disowned me. I found Lampton Court via the internet and was attracted to the fact that they had one to one counselling sessions which I felt was vital to my recovery, also the great activities they do here such as sailing, kayaking, beach walking etc.

The main house is beautiful as are the grounds that surround it such a difference from London life itís peaceful and inspiring and set in such a lovely part of the country, as I said I was lost before I found Lampton Court and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for treatment for drug or alcohol addiction.

The staff are very understanding and really helpful with anything you should need and the one to one counselling is first class, but most of all the big factor for me is the service users, at first I was a little frightened of meeting new people but everyone was so welcoming and once you settle in everyone has great banter and a good laugh. Although it is hard to give up an addiction Iíd have to say Lampton Court is definitely the best place to do it, the work I have done here has changed my outlook on life and I believe I will be a better son, brother, uncle and father for it.

Feb 2011

Back to the top

Naomi Says: My name is Naomi Iím 32 yrs old and have been an addict for 10 yrs. I came to Lampton Court in August 2010, for me coming to rehab was a life or death decision and I choose life, which was the best decision I have ever made.

Lampton Court has helped me in so many different ways from dealing personal issues, getting awareness and understanding, acceptance to reprogramming myself to having a more positive and focused outlook on life.

The staff at Lampton are great at what they do and you get support and guidance around the clock 7 day a week. Itís a great programme if you work it, I know it works. You also get the opportunity to make new friends and the support you get from your peers is priceless.

The activities and the experience you will get from Lampton Court will stay with you for a lifetime.

Naomi
Feb 2011

Mrs M
(parent)
Says :
I am writing this to explain what Lampton Court has done for my son. My son is 45 and for 25 years of his life he has been dependant on drugs, it was 25 years where I lost my son because his life was totally absorbed by drugs, which in turn resulted in prison sentences, he lost his relationships, marriage and consequently children, we had lost the closeness we had which was hardest of all.

Several times he tried to get off drugs, but each time the pull back always won. Each time his step dad and myself were always behind him, but even that was not enough. However when he was 43 he eventually resolved to end the life he had been living for good. He sought help through the necessary channels and after a year being whined off drugs he applied for rehabilitation and was given a placement at Lampton Court, Bideford.

His step dad and I arranged for a meeting with staff at Lampton Court to see if Gary was eligible and to be shown around. Me and Garyís step dad spoke with a member of staff, all our questions were answered and all the procedures of the programme were relayed to us, the staff were very friendly and reassuring.

We came away from there with plenty to think about (all of us) it was a very big decision for Gary as the only life heíd known was drug induced. (I would like to point out that at the time Gary did not know how or what a conversation was, yes or no were his responses), he also suffered from OCD.

Eventually Gary arrived at Lampton Court on the 4th November 2010. He was very apprehensive and did not know what to expect, but the staff were very good and patient with his problems i.e. having to sleep with his radio on. Me and his step dad noticed a difference with Gary in the first 2 weeks, he was actually talking to us and so full of where and what was going on around him. They showed him what life is and can be without drugs, itís opened his eyes to a whole new way of thinking of what is out there and can be achieved.

We went to visit Gary and couldnít believe how well he looked, serene and happy he is hoping to get some voluntary work to do to help him get back into society. Garyís dad and me canít thank and praise Lampton Court for the help they have given Gary, and we are behind him 100%.

Mrs M,
Parent
Feb 2011

Back to the top

Gary Says: Hi my names Gary and if you are reading this you must be thinking about coming to rehab, well read on and hopefully I can help you think positive.

Well Iím 45 and spent 16 years in jail for committing crimes to feed a 25 Year drug habit.

Iím getting on in time now so decided to sort myself out and give rehab a go!!!

I was told about Lampton Court but was a bit scared coz the only courts Iíve been to is crown court, when I got here I was so anxious and my OCD was very prominent, but after a few days getting to know my peers and getting involved in the programme this place started to working for me, Iíve been here 3 months and true fully it ainít been a walk in the park but itís been perfect in helping with my recovery, you get what you put in and everyone peers/staff all put 100% in.

This place works so give it a go you wonít regret it.

GOOD LUCK IN YOUR RECOVERY

Gary
Feb 2011

Back to the top

Sam Says: The new Detox suite at Lampton court reopened on 08 December 2010 and I was its first new resident, I had come all the way down from Leeds in West Yorkshire, Setting off at 6am in the morning so I didn't actually arrive until about 3pm.

The staff had arranged to collect me from Barnstaple Train Station, which is only about 20 minutes from the rehab, but it was a relief to get some help with my bags after all that travelling changing train's etc. I had deliberately not tried to have too many prior expectations about what it would be like as I had already done my homework on the CQC web site over which rehab would be best for me. However I still couldn't help being a bit nervous upon arrival wondering whether it could ever really be as good as it looked and sounded in the brochure. As we pulled off the road any niggling doubts started to melt away, as we swept up the largest, longest, driveway I've ever seen in my whole life. As we approached the building I thought for a minute I was arriving at something similar to Balmoral castle, the 30ft trees and stunningly beautiful grounds and surrounding countryside took my breath away.

As we came through the door into the main foyer, it instantly had a really good and welcoming atmosphere and felt very homely. This was by far going to be the poshest place I had ever lived in and I actually felt quite excited.

We went up a huge open staircase with all the original chunky wood carved banister, and made our way through to the detox suite where I was to spend my first 3 weeks, before being able to get back over into this main part of the building. The detox suite is within the same building as the rehab but all detox residents are kept separate to the rehab residents. I was most relieved though that in no way shape or form did it feel like a hospital wing, which was what I'd expected; it still had a welcoming atmosphere and just a different feel to the older part of the building. I was shown to my room, which was a 2 bed with on suite bathroom, and it was lovely and warm and fitted out with modern fittings and was all nice and clean ready for my arrival. The room soon filled with staff for the check in procedure where they had to search through all my belongings (standard procedure at any rehab), and as Id brought such a huge bag extra staff were needed on board. This took some time and by this point I was starting to feel really tired and a bit poorly, the staff were really understanding though as I had to just collapse on the bed while they did the rest of the search.

Then it was time to nip down to another room, to see the doctor, who comes in once a week on a Wednesday afternoon, especially to see any new detox patients, as they only take in new arrivals on that day of the week. She was a nice enough lady and just wanted to know my current drug use, and prescribed me the appropriate amount of subbutex, which was the detox medication of my own choice. After that I was shown where the detox residents lounge was, and allowed to do my own thing for the evening. I got a shock when I went back into my bedroom, as the staff had put all my clothes away neatly for me, which I really appreciated.

I had a bit of a rough first night, but after that didn't seem to feel too bad during the duration of my 3-week detox. It was by a long way the easiest one I have ever done, and I've done about 20 detoxes in my 13 years on Heroin (have never done rehab before though). I put this down to the fact that I have been so well looked after here. In the week that I was on my own the staff went out of their way to sit with me, pretty much 24/7 unless I actually wanted to be on my own for a bit. I was always treated with the utmost respect and felt I could talk to them about literally anything. Because I had such good company the time whizzed by, there was plenty of good food available, and because at first my appetite was poor, I only had to ask if there was something special I thought I could keep down, and it would be either sent up from the chef in the rehab kitchen, or if they didn't have it in, one of the staff would go out and buy it in for me. They also brought a Play Station 2 in from home to help keep me occupied, there's freeview TV and then they brought a DVD player in with a big stack of DVDs to choose from. There's also a library in the main rehab that you're allowed to borrow books from, as well as jigsaw, games etc.

On the second week 2 new clients came in which was nice. I had some new company and obviously we were all in the same situation together, so could help each other out. By the end of the 2nd week I was starting to feel really well in myself, as I was over the worst of the symptoms and felt a lot brighter and alive, unlike the zombie Id become through repeated drug use.

The 3rd week dragged a bit, as I really wanted to get down to the rehab part, meet all the other residents and get on with the therapy part of the programme. However as I still wasn't sleeping much, I recognised, that the staff knew what they were doing, as I was almost too well to be in the detox part, yet not quite well enough to start being up at 7am everyday, and being really busy on the programme and doing all the activities that they offer here. So, the only slightly negative thing I can say about my experience here, was that because the area around the detox part is much smaller than the rest of the rehab, you may find that as you get well you too feel a bit restless. So my advice is to bring plenty of kit from home to keep yourself occupied during this phase, like a mini DVD player for when you want to be in your room, or MP3 player as it just helps keep you busy when you bored of doing TV, radio, etc, etc.

Overall, I can thoroughly recommend this place. It's the best move/decision I've ever made in my whole life. I'm in the rehab part now and I absolutely love it here. All the staff are fantastic, they know their drug therapy well, and I don't feel any rehab could possibly offer more than what these guys do. Not only is the therapy part brilliant but we go on activities 3 days a week, and do stuff that you just wouldn't normally ever get the chance to do. Furthermore now that I've met all the other residents and had time to get to know them, I have huge faith in the programme and have seen for myself that it really works. When you hear people's life stories and written assignments, you realise just how much they've changed for the better in such a short time. It's truly inspiring and I still can't get over it, but it fills me with hope for my own future. You only get out of it what you're prepared to put in though, but if your ready to change and change for the better this is the place to do it.

The last thing I want to say is about the fact that Lampton Court offers this in-house detoxification service. For me, it was very important that I went to a Rehab that had this as I didn't like the idea of going to one place for detox, and then having to travel on and start afresh at a new place for the rehab program. I know from previous situations that if I'm happy somewhere I don't want to move on, so I knew it wouldn't do me any favours especially for something as important as this. I have noticed too, from other new clients who have come straight into the rehab part, having detoxed elsewhere; it definitely seems to unsettle them to some degree or another they have all said to me, at some stage in their 1st week that they've found it harder 2 settle for these reasons, and they wish they'd known because they'd have preferred to do the detox here as well. Fortunately with help and advice from myself and their other peers they've come through it, and are still here and enjoying the program. So, I'm not saying it can't be done both way's round. This was my and their experience. I have also heard though, that statistically speaking the results for people staying and completing the course at all rehabs is definitely higher than at those that ONLY offer in house detoxs, with no ongoing therapy program.

Apparently, aside from what I've said above its because people either feel, 'Well I'm clean now- that's the most important and hard part out the way so I can do the rest myself', or they don't have anyone or don't think they need anyone to come on the journey from the detox to the rehab with them. However they find that at some point on that journey, no matter how sure they were when they got on, that they would not relapse they actually do. Its as though the addicts part of their mind whether it be drink or drugs, knows its on its last chance to have something and before you know it takes over. As for those that think they've done the hardest part in detox, it may seem that way at the beginning but in the end it's really not the getting off of the substance, but the ongoing staying clean all day everyday is the truly hard part. Hence why the therapy/rehab part is so very important in the longer term.

I don't like saying this, as I know it may sound a bit negative, but I'm just speaking from the heart and telling it how I genuinely believe it to be true. As a recovering heroin addict I know and remember the hellishness of the addiction and lifestyle that goes with it, both for drugs and alcohol - its all more or less the same, and if this testimonial helps just one person out there make the decision to get well then its been worth my while.

Back to the top

David Says: My Time At Lampton Court

I came into Lampton near a broken man after my detox. I had some key issues hanging over me which I didnít think I could get through, uncertainty around a lot of stuff. I suppose my key issues were loss ie the loss of years I had through drinking, using and drug dealing. The loss of not having any parents when growing up. I had all the above hanging over my head along with not knowing where my life was going, facing my life without the use of chemicals.

I got straight into my one to ones and assignment groups and faced all my losses and fears head on, which, for me, was painful but also rewarding and I started to grow because of this. For the first time in my life I was getting some massive benefits from the programme and I had some confidence in my ability to get through things without drinking and dealing. I have also learnt not to run from things anymore and with recovery I live anywhere I choose.

My relationships with my family and friends has changed because I value those relationships, ie appreciate them and I have realised that people really care for me and just want the best for me. Now I would say that Iím in a place where I am clean and comfortable within myself. Iím working on myself and can be there for them when they need me and I can be consistent and be loyal to them. I view myself a little different from the man who came up that driveway 12 weeks ago.

I would say that Iím more confident now, Iím more hopeful for my future and I have faith that everything will be ok and things do not have to be the way they were when I first walked through the door of Lampton Court. I have had a lot of time to think here about my life, where I have come from, where I am going and what I need to do in order to have a sober, beautiful life. Iíve realised that Iím not all to blame for my past but I am responsible for my future and my actions and they speak louder than words in my vocabulary than any other words I can think of. I never thought that I would be in the position that I am in now and coming to the end of my time here, at one point it seemed so far away so I need to give myself a great big pat on the back. I think that I have put a lot of work into the programme and have also challenged myself, therefore am really proud of myself.

Like I have said previously, I have got a lot from groups here, mainly journal group and assignment group and my one to ones with Nula. I have gratitude to Lampton for everything it has had to offer me plus some of my peers have been amazing as well. But, last but not least, I made myself a promise before I arrived here that I would complete the programme whether it would be 3 months or 6 months, that I will not leave any earlier even when things got shitty for me here. I know in my big heart that if I seriously take one day at a time I will be worth my weight in gold!

Thank you for taking time out to listen to me. Please keep the to the programme and work it, it will work if you work it, just remember youíre worth it.

Back to the top

Colin says: "When I arrived at Lampton Court on 13 July, I was broken!
Whether I was prepared to admit it or not - I needed fixing.
I had been a successful lawyer, had a career, family, friends, money and a home. Alcohol took all this away from me leaving me, both materially but more importantly emotionally, with nothing.
Over the 12 weeks that I spent at Lampton, through the group sessions, counseling, activities and time with other residents, I learned that I wasn't alone and that it was ok to be me again; the real me who didn't have to pretend or hide behind a mask. The me that didn't need alcohol to make my life worth living.
There were tears, laughter, shouting, sad and very happy times but I was never on my own. I was safe and had the freedom to express all that I needed to.
I'm Colin, 38, and I know that I have a wonderful life ahead of me."

Back to the top

Duncan Says: Lampton Court

My name is Duncan and I have been a drug addict for almost 20 years.
I have spent my whole life, or what I can remember of it, in and out of prison and committing crime to fund my addictions and the life style that I once believed I was trapped in.
My life had hit rock bottom, which is inevitable for most people that use drugs or drink excessively.
All my family had disowned me; my only son had been taken into care. I was physically and mentally exhausted and feeling very depressed t the point of wanting to kill myself. I no longer wanted to live as the junky low life that I had become and made the decision to do something with my life.

I went to the D.I.P team in Brighton to see what help was available.
At first my key worker tried a twelve step programme, but on looking at it in more detail I didn't think it was for me. I thought it was too intense. She started looking for an alternative. Unfortunately for me I was arrested and before anything was put in place, I had to do a two year prison sentence.
The day after I was let out I went to see my D.I.P worker and was given a place in detox seven days later. After being detoxed, somewhere in the back of my mind I somehow thought I was cured but before I could leave, my probation officer came to see me with some news. He told me that a rehab had been found that they thought would suit my needs and that my prison licence had been amended for a condition of residence at Lampton court. He said that if I did not go, I was going to be recalled back to prison.
I was livid; I do not think that I have ever been that angry without hitting someone.

As soon as I arrived at Lampton Court, I did not want to be here.
The way I saw it was that I had been forced to be here, I was not happy at all and I was going to make my feelings heard. "IF I WAS UNHAPPY WHY SHOULD EVERYONE ELSE BE HAPPY".

For about ten days, I did not stop complaining about everything that I could think of.
I moaned about the food, the beds, the staff, and my money from the DSS. You name it I had to moan about it. I complained non-stop day and night. Someone then pointed out to me that I was not going anywhere and asked me if I was just complaining to avoid the issues that I did not want to look at surrounding my addictions and past problems that needed to be addressed.
It made me stop and take stock of myself. I decided to start doing some work on myself and to do the group work just to see what all the fuss was about.

I am nearing the end of my treatment now, and looking back to when I first came in, I am a different person. To get involved, to learn about myself, and to give it my best shot was the best thing I could have done for my life and for me.
Since being here, I have learnt new life skills. I have learned to sit with myself and my past and be comfortable with my decisions. I have been taught new meditation skills, also to be mindful of my actions, situations and people in my life.

Duncan Gurney,  2010

Back to the top

Robert Says: Life at Lampton

When I arrived at Lampton Court I was full of nerves and quite anxious about the journey I was about to embark on.

I was also quite afraid because it was all new to me, and I did not know anyone. Everyone was really nice and made me feel welcome straight away.

My experience of Lampton has been one of extremes. Coming off drugs gave me back my feelings, so I have been through a lot of lows but also a lot of highs. The highs have definitely outweighed the lows. I had to go through the lows to fully appreciate the highs.

I have gone through every emotion imaginable, this was challenging as I sat with my feelings and had nothing to numb the pain. I have cried a lot on my journey, which I have not done for years. This was very relieving.

The support of my peers has been priceless. They have held me when I could not hold myself. They understand me and the way I tick. If it were not for my peers I dont know if I would have stayed.

I myself have supported my peers in their time of need. This is how it works here at Lampton. We are like one big dysfunctional family, but it works.

I can truly say I have had the best counsellor here, who has helped me immensely. I was taken back to my childhood, where we explored and dealt with my past. This was difficult for me, but I trusted the process and my counsellor.

I also explored my thought process and they way I tick and why I tick the way I do.

At time I felt vulnerable and exposed, but was allowed to, and this has made me the man I am today.

I have come to a lot of realisations with L**** and I understand myself a lot more than I did. I have become quite attached to L**** as I trust her completely and she has opened my mind up to new concepts, and to my future. After all this hard work, it is only right we are rewarded. And rewards we reap!
The first is obvious, we become stable and then are able to reflect on our lives, and where we want to go.
Secondly we have activities every Saturday with a company called EBO where we go rock climbing, abseiling, surfing, coasteering and horse riding. Many of these activities we have never had the pleasure of doing before coming here.
Its absolutely amazing! Facing your fears and overcoming them. You get such a rush and a real natural buzz.
Through doing these activities I have now so many more exciting hobbies.
Lampton Court is a beautiful building with 8 acres of land. So if it gets too hot in the kitchen with L***** you can always go for a walk in the grounds. And who knows what you might bump into. Chickens? Rabbits?
This has been a wonderful chapter of my life and I have some beautiful memories here.
I am grateful I have had the opportunity to go on this journey.

Robert Okacha, September 2008

Back to the top

Trevor Says: From the age of 22 I have been in and out of numerous prisons, I would say I've served a total of 14 years.

The longest time I've been free is about 20 months. The reason I chose that life! Drugs or should I say it chose me, whichever way you want to look at it.

In the early years I would have said no it wasn't because of the drugs, it was a way of life for me. But as time and sentences got longer, my behaviour and drug intake got worse. I couldn't see an end to my madness and destruction of everything good around me. My family, my friends, even my lovely daughter who I worship, and still do.

All the hurt and pain I caused was due to my craving. Anything I could steal, rob or cheat someone out of I would. Back then it was just cannabis, but that led to harder things like 'E'. cocaine then crack and lastly heroin. I used to say when I saw people taking it, I'd never touch that stuff, and I believed what I said. But it happened and that is when my life fell apart.

I'd like to think I'm sensible about most things, but I lost my way, when, I cant quite say.

I hurt everyone around me and made a mess of my life. Honestly could'nt see a way out of my nightmare. I was due to be sentanced for more crimes I'd committed while under the influence. I was sick of the life I was living and this one time I asked the judge for help with my entrenched addiction, and was given the chance of help and ended up at Lampton Court.

I can say I have a life now. I have so many things to look forward to, and I can honestly say I see things so differently now.

I'm 44 years old today and happy I came here.

Trevor , August 2008

Back to the top

Marion Says: My very first day that I arrived at Lampton Court, like more or less everyone else, was very nervous.

Within about 30 mins I think more or less all of the staff on duty that day, but also the people that were already here had made me feel so welcome, that from that very minute I knew that I was going to be OK.

I went up into the detox part of the building with a member of staff that helped me settle in to my new bedroom, then left me to unpack my belongings. I was in detox for 2 weeks, not once was I ever left alone, feeling that I didn't have anyone there if I was in need of anything. There was always a nurse and other members of staff 24 hours a day and night on hand if I required anything. I was checked out by the doctor who decided what medication was suitable for me. All the staff were, and still are, very caring and understanding, it made me feel wanted and almost loved for the first time in my life for years.

Now I am in rehab, attending group meetings and many different things each day I never thought I would be able to do, an example is like giving my opinion in the groups.

There are house rules which are fair, nothing given that you are not able or capable to do. I have nearly finished my first week as a client in rehab and am amazed how much better I already feel. And as far as member of staff in rehab, it is the same as detox, there is always someone on duty if we require anything. Never is there a need to go through anything alone. Staff members are there, who are easy to talk to, or will listen if you need to talk about anything, and are always willing to help and give advice if you need anything.

So far my stay in Lampton has been a very good and happy one.

When I cam here to Lampton Court just over 3 weeks ago as a drunk, without any faith, or hope in my life, the rehab treatments given by attending groups etc has made me feel a person again with a life to fight for.

Footnote: Marion spent just over 6 months at Lampton Court and completed her programme which was celebrated in true Lampton Court style by sending her up to fly (literally) a small single engined aircraft, the Lampton reward for all those completing the programme.

Marion Smith, 27th September 2008

Back to the top

Our latest Care Quality Commission inspection report (05/03/2009) can be seen here: Inspection Report (opens in a new window)


Subscribe to our Newsletter Here .

Back to the top

Home | Aims and Objectives | Admissions Information | The Lampton Programme
News & Articles | Staff Vacancies | Our Location | Testimonials | Contact Us | Links


© web content copyright © Lampton Court 2011
web design and code  © 56kb.com 2011

Health and Care Partnership Ltd.
Registered in England; No.
3693956
C QC registration number 1Ė101665918